Who am I?

Image

 

 

I don’t plan to be specific on who I am in real life. I have several reasons for this and perhaps I will change my mind at a later date but for now, I will tell my life story in very general terms. Everything I share on this blog is true but for the privacy of others, I may omit/change names and dates and places and other details.

To be honest, I am still discovering a lot of my childhood. I have pursued counseling for a number of reasons and was told that I suffer from PTSD, among other things. I know this to be true as I have very minimal memories from my childhood. Huge chunks of time are blurry to me or completely black. A good part of what I do remember is enough to make me thankful that I don’t remember the rest. I will probably go into further details on this at a later date. If you are unaware of what PTSD is, feel free to do a little reading on it. http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/post-traumatic-stress-disorder-ptsd/index.shtml

I was born into a large family. A broken and dysfunctional family in almost every way. There are close to ten children from multiple fathers. There is history of mental illness, addictions, abandonment, abuse and neglect. It’s amazing how resilient children can be. We just keep growing and grasping onto those brief moments of happiness, but eventually we grow to adulthood with demons of our own. We have baggage that we can’t seem to unload. Again, my blog will go into many more stories and details. 

My journey continues to adulthood where I attend a very strict well known Fundamentalist Baptist college and marry far too young. We add too many children too soon. This is NOT to say that my choice of a spouse was poor or that my love of motherhood is not present. As my first post said, God can makes beautiful things from any situation. I know he protected me and guided me and saved me from myself many, many times. My blog will absolutely go discuss my college years and my current status as a wife and mother. 

I know my journey is not over. I don’t want it to be. I can’t wait to see what happens next! A big part of my freedom in Christ is finally leaving a Fundamentalist church. I will be discussing how I came to my decision. 

Please stay with me. I hope we can learn something from each other. 

**Please keep all comments respectful and free of vulgarity and other inappropriate forms of expression. 

One thought on “Who am I?

Leave a Reply

