Freedom to think

One of the things I love best about no longer being in Fundamentalist circles is the freedom to think about things. The system oppresses a person so much that I know for me, I felt scared or guilty to even think about doing anything outside of the status quo. Now I think about and talk about whatever comes to mind. Sometimes I talk about things that I seriously doubt I would ever do, just because I enjoy thinking about new things and coming to my own conclusions. 

For instance, I have been thinking about getting a tattoo. Now for anyone that actually knows me, they would know that I am a huge baby about anything that might be risky or painful. I would really surprise myself if I ever went through with getting a tattoo. I have no problem with the idea itself nor anyone that has a tattoo. I think body art can really be meaningful as well as beautiful although there are of course some horrendous tattoos I have seen in pictures online….we will save that discussion for another post! So anyways, if I got one, I am thinking about getting a phoenix or possibly a bird coming out of a cage. I know the bird cage idea is quite popular but what I was thinking about doing is having one bird opening the door for the other birds. I like the idea that one can help another to escape. Another idea is the quote “love is all you need” because I truly believe that a true, unselfish love can conquer anything. The kind of love that only God can give to us and can teach us to give to each other. I am still learning a lot about how to give unselfishly without blame or judgment, just love. That will take me a whole lifetime to learn, and I feel that the idea in general is something that I would be fine with putting on my body forever. Much more meaningful than a random cartoon character wouldn’t you say? 

All of this to say, I have been thinking about so many things and it is hard to focus my thoughts on particular issues to express in my blog. 

For now, I am focused on freedom of my mind. Freedom. 

 

Freedom. 

 

Soak it in. It is wonderful right?!

Leave a Reply

